#AtoZChallenge Reflections Post: Have I Thanked You Yet?


Reflections on Blogging A to Z Challenge

A to Z Reflections 2014

If you’ve been to this blog in the last month, you know I’ve been part of the A to Z Challenge. We usually do a Reflections post to wind up, to give us cohosts feedback, to thank those who made this challenge worthwhile for us. If you haven’t participated in the challenge, please scroll down to the bottom, and help answer some of the questions there :)

My A to Z Challenge on this blog was a disaster for me personally.

I scheduled none of the posts, thought I could write fiction based on random pictures and prompts at the drop of a hat. I was traveling through half of April, not in the best of conditions, and most days I almost didn’t write the story. But some of my blog friends made this all worthwhile, so I’ll simply devote this post to them.

 Joseph W Richardson, who gave me his pictures to do whatever I wanted with them. Huge risk, and I really hope I haven’t let him down in any major way.

And to all the folks, whose comments kept me going: I wrote most of the stories half asleep due to exhaustion, or in a lot of pain, or majorly depressed– I got a fair bit of death-related news this month, arranged for funeral anniversaries in the family, battled exhaustion and sickness. All these stories would have been impossible if not for the comments I received from you.

I’ll mention and link to a few of the kind bloggers below, the ones who gave me courage during the tough times– if you haven’t visited them, you’re missing out.

Dan Antion and Paul Ruddock: They’ve read and tweeted all my AZ posts, and left me some beautiful comments. Gave me prompts, besides. I cherish these friends, and you should visit them to see why.

Peter Nena, Keith Channing and Patricia Lynne: I met Patricia during the first challenge, and will never forget her post, all about her getting married! Peter has been a blog buddy for a while, an excellent horror writer,  but Keith is a new friend– I loved his travel posts, and his comments.

Rosie AmberSammy D., Jacqui Murray, Davey Northcott, Susan Scott,Rajlakshmi,Lisa Buie Collard, Vishalbheeroo, Beloo Mehra, HarliQueen, Sonia Lal, uniqusatya : Their comments spurred me on, especially when I found what good writers they themselves are!

 Michelle Wallace : This lady went back and read, commented on all the older stories through April– I can’t imagine the sort of time and effort that must have taken.

David Prosser, S D Neeve: David shared almost all of my posts on twitter, and both these bloggers left cool comments.

I have to thank my fantastic #TeamDamyanti for the A to Z Challenge, Guilie, Anna, Samantha, Csenge, Vidya, Jemima and Mary– they did all kinds of bloggy things to keep me afloat during the challenge, and gave me some beautiful prompts!

And lastly, I have to thank my cohosts: Lee, Alex, Tina, Jeremy, Nicole, Stephen, Heather, AJ, MJ, Pam.

Lee, Alex, Tina, Jeremy, Nicole, Stephen, Heather, AJ, MJ and Pam – See more at: http://amloki.blogspot.sg/#sthash.flv7NsI6.dpufThey made this whole shebang possible.

Through the month of May and then the months after until I cover each of these bloggers I’ve mentioned above, I’ll be reblogging their posts or linking to them, as a small token of thanks for the support they’ve given me. I’m sure I’ve missed a few names, and to them I sincerely apologize…I’ll be sure to link to everyone though, sooner or later, through this blog, or my other one, Amlokiblogs.

I’m also thinking of linking to more of my visitors — this would be for all those bloggers who’ve visited me during the challenge, or before and after. I’ll try and include 3 links with each of my future posts, under a new regular section: Bloggers I Recommend Visiting.

I’m happy my posts receive their fair share of comments and visits– but I think growth is enjoyed best when the entire community grows together, and everyone else receives lots of comments and visitors, too!

——

Did you participate in the A to Z Challenge? Have you met any of the bloggers linked above– how many of them do you know? Have you participated in any other blog challenges? Did you read any of my A to Z stories this year?

Lee, Alex, Tina, Jeremy, Nicole, Stephen, Heather, AJ, MJ and Pam, without – See more at: http://amloki.blogspot.sg/#sthash.iyNrIz9Z.dpuf
co-hosts Lee, Alex, Tina, Jeremy, Nicole, Stephen, Heather, AJ, MJ and Pam, – See more at: http://amloki.blogspot.sg/#sthash.iyNrIz9Z.dpuf

129 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge Reflections Post: Have I Thanked You Yet?

  1. Pingback: Would You write for free? | Daily (w)rite

  2. This was the 2nd year I participated in the challenge. Last year I had most of my posts written and ready to publish by April 1. This year was more of a struggle. I’ve had a LOT going on in my “real” life, which is also why I’m just now getting around to the reflections posts LOL. I was one of AJ’s wHooligans this year, which was fun. I’m hoping to get to do more blog reading this summer now that we’re done with school.

    TaMara @ Tales of a Pee Dee Mama

  3. I’m still working my way through the tail end of the Challenge posts and the Reflections. I can’t believe you were doing all that and were still writing your short stories!! I take back anything I said that wasn’t super-supportive. You’re truly amazing Damyanti, and you work far too hard. I hope things are calmer now and you’ve had a chance to get your turmoils settled.

    Thank you for including me, I really value it.

    Jemima

  4. Pingback: Sharing your Personal Life on your #Blog : Your Thoughts? | Daily (w)rite

  5. Pingback: Did You have Imaginary Friends as a child? #FridayReads | Daily (w)rite

  6. Hi ! nice to connect with you… this year i did miss your posts ! as I was managing to post and comment, remembered some of your posts last year challenge, with lovely pics.. sorry to hear about your situation… hope to connect with you and visit some posts ! You have always been encouraging and I do appreciate that quality.

  7. This challenge was a lot for me and having finished it was great and connected me with more writers, but also left me mentally fatigued and still trying to come back from it. Despite knowing what will happen to me, I plan to do it again next year.

  8. Pingback: Does Encouragement equal Support for #IndiePub Authors? | Daily (w)rite

  9. I had composed all 26 posts well before April 1. (Of course, I did replace a couple of posts and edit a few posts before publishing.) This gave me enough time to visit over 500 blogs. I got to know some amazing bloggers, including you, many of whom I’m now following, and also acquired quite a few new followers for my blog.

  10. Many thanks for the mention. It a pleasure reading your daily posts, and many others I discovered along the way, so a great experience all round.

    Sincere regards,
    Paul…

  11. Considering all the obstacles you made a Herculean effort to finish the challenge with style. Bravo!!! If I hadn’t read this post I would have never known all the challenges you faced and met. You are a rock star!

  12. I just discovered your blog and the brilliance of the AtoZ Challenge. I perused several of your posts and was struck by the vividness of your compositions. Well done! I look forward to future pieces!

I love comments, and I always visit back. Blogging is all about being a part of a community, and communities are about communication! Tweet me up @damyantig !

