Where, according to you, are #poetry and #art born?


Hakone Open Air Museum

Where Are Art and Poetry Born?

December five years ago, this blog was almost my private domain. Not many visited, still fewer left comments.

As the festive season draws near, I’m feeling grateful to have all the love I do receive now, and to each of my 10,873 followers, a Thank You.

I went back browsing on Daily (w)rite  and found this post and I find it relevant to my life and writing today as well.

This was the essence of the post, these words by Natsume Sōseki, in the opening lines of his brilliant, and beautiful, Kusamakura:

If you grow by reason, you grow rough-edged; if you choose to dip your oar into sentiment’s stream, it will sweep you away. Demanding your own way only serves to constrain you. However you look at it, the human world is not an easy place to live.

And when its difficulties intensify, you find yourself longing to leave that world and dwell in some easier one–and then, when you understand at last that difficulties will dog you wherever you may live, this is when poetry and art are born.

Do you agree with Natsume Sōseki? Where according to you, are poetry and art born? Are pain and difficulties necessary?

123 thoughts on “Where, according to you, are #poetry and #art born?

  1. Hi Damyanti! These things certainly take time to grow don’t they? You’ve given me hope that some day I too will convince people I’m worth reading. Thanks for stopping by my blog – any and all feedback and criticism is really appreciated.

    Love,
    Stu

  2. I believe true art is born out of life experiences, dreams, hopes. A lot of things that make a person think seriously about life. When people say they only care about their art and nothing else, they create soulless art. In my opinion a true artist should care about a lot of things and express them through his art.

    • I think a true artist does care about a lot of things, but is so willing to sacrifice them at the altar of his art. Yes, true art is created from life experiences, but in their depiction, the artist thinks not of life-truths, but universal art-truths….if that makes any sense.

  3. I’m really impressed that you’ve been writing your blog for 5 years. I almost forgot (I mean decades of amnesia) that writing is a necessity for me. I have to reach my mind back to middle school days when I used to love writing and my words flowed easily. Since that’s a long time ago, and much harder to access, I look to others for inspiration. :). I love reading words written by people who love to write.

  4. Pingback: Where, according to you, are #poetry and #art born? | earthmuther's Blog

  5. I see the point of Natsume’s quote and agree with some of it. There is no question that art can arise from a difficult situation. Some of the really great music of our generation was created by artists who were caught up in bad situations. Music then became their outlet to address the problem.

    On a bigger scale, I think just as much art comes from merely observing life and being a social critic. Every day you wake up is another opportunity to explore the world around you use it as your inspiration to create something memorable.

    Congrats on your blog’s success. How did you you do it?

  6. Poetry and art are born
    in a place inside some minds
    of some people
    who see what is happening around them
    sense a connectedness to it
    and find a way to express it.

    It is not always in need of strife
    but it involves a mind
    that sees patterns in the surrounding world
    that it tries to make sense of
    and the only way it can make a sense
    is by creating a montage
    of words
    sounds
    or images.

    Some impressions deep and cutting
    some some intrinsic
    some ephemeral
    like an essay on a place
    in a space of time
    that is captured.

  7. Wonderful post! I agree that pain and difficulties both give rise to certain art. But not ALL art. A lot of art is born of inspiration, reverence, and let’s face it, just sheer compulsion. That is how most dancers feel, drawn to the craft for no discernible reason, but drawn uncontrollably. I also believe the opposite is true, pursuit of great art can LEAD to pain and difficulty. I guess that proposes a sort of “chicken or the egg” scenario. Anyway, love this blog and thanks for visiting me at xballerina!!

  8. I am writing to heal my heart; others call my words evocative, to me they are expressions of my pain. I know my words are controversial. Does this make them art? I don’t know the answer to that, but I do know that they are helping me heal. So perhaps for me, my art is born of pain and of love. I am considering a 365 blogging challenge; your work inspires me. Thank you!

    • I don’t blog 365 days a year– but I do write. I hope some day you’re given the opportunity to create art out of your joy, and I wish you lots of peace and happiness.

  9. Hi! Thanks for visiting and following Peacock Quills and Cake Crumbs! Its just a baby, with a long way to go! I really enjoy reading your blog…as far as poetry goes, I feel that pain is definitely a trigger to get the creative flow going. On the other hand, beauty can also trigger and inspire poetry. Perhaps whatever emotion stirs the waters of tranquility will inspire the poet to write! There is a fine line between pain and happiness, so they say!

  10. Speaking mainly as a writer/occasional poet, I’d say poetry and art come from inspiration (vague, I know). I recall that Michelangelo used to say he didn’t create his sculptures. Rather, he saw them in the rock and did what he could to free them. When I write, I often feel the same way. I can feel the shape of the story, as if it’s already written in my head and I’m just struggling to find the words I need to tell it. I don’t know if I answered your question, but it was fun to try. Congratulations on getting so many followers and thanks for the like and follow on my blog. :)

    • Thanks for the comment and dropping by. Sometimes, I can see the shape of a story in my head– like a puppy who must dig out a hidden bone. At others, I’m like a kitten playing with a ball of yarn, getting all tangled and having fun.

  11. I’ll keep it simple cos I have tosleep. Goethe is a fine example on how sources can vary . its not all about suffering. Its everything. Bot h reason and the submlimal. Have a good night everyone. Oh ps: I love the quote BTW ;)

  12. Hi there Damyanti, I’m interested in your comment about growing your blog in the last five years. What do you think have been the main reasons/aspects of your blog that have caused it to gain its following? Is it regular posting, following other people, commenting on their comments?
    I’m not really using my page as a blog in the sense of posting everyday. It’s more of a place to display completed writing. Although I could comment on life and daily experience etc. that’s not my purpose. Do you think the blog can only grow if it has regular daily posts? Is it staying current and interactive, regardless of content that’s the key to amassing a following? Many thanks for your time, Dom Carter

  13. Pingback: Sweet Sharing Wordsmith Award 2013 - Sweet Sharing

  14. I think art was created after a moment of chaos or boredom. There is no creativity in order, no creativity in absence of chaos. If you are at ease, you just hum an old song, you seldom compose one!
    Art- Popular since 10,000 B.C.

  15. Why does there always have to be pain and deceit those lives as i have just began to learn about poetry? Knowing love is always big, what of imagination?

    It seems sad that things will end in such away for myself, not having learned the art of writing poetry from childhood, but just begun….

  16. Whenever I let myself conceive thoughts (the process of reflecting), then there is born poetry/art, no matter from pain or happiness. Sometimes the emotion holds things for later reflection and I hope by the time the fingers hit the keys, the freshness is still there. Congratulations Damyanti on your followers, well-deserved for such great discussions and the motivation you give us!

  17. Thank you for the very interesting discussion. I’m feeling especially contemplative this Christmas Eve, and this “hits the spot”. I would have to agree (personally) with the sentiments expressed in the above quote, however, I recognize that this is not the case for everyone.

    Thank you, by the way, for following my blog. I am just getting started and was encouraged by your opening statement (“December five years ago, this blog was almost my private domain. Not many visited, still fewer left comments.”). This is a scary journey for me to undertake, but am hoping for the best. :) Thanks again. Looking forward to your contributions.

  18. Congratulations, your private domain has come a long way in five years. I very much agree with this:

    ‘I write because of the people inside of my head– only I can hear them, and it seems unfair not to let them have access to the world outside.’

  19. Thanks for stopping by my blog and congratulations on 5 years!
    Art & Poetry imprints our aches on the universe – relieved, we can go on to sprout new wings or not, either way we fall into these camps – the cyclical or cynical.
    Keep up the good work!! It gives me hope :)

  20. I just wanted to say hi and thank you for following my humble little blog.
    I think that art and poetry can be born from beauty and joy but for me, pain and difficulty breeds more inspiration. My project, Outcry, is proving the truth of this. Each poem that is making the cut so far is about a struggle, and often about deep-seated pain (whether overcome or not). Poetry is cathartic, and after all I’ve, and the people I love, have been through, I find the vulnerability of pain needs to be expressed.

  21. To me, art is a point of connection. For the artist, it is a connection to whatever emotion/mood/experience they are compelled to express. And for the beholder, a connection to that expression. It can come from great pain or great joy or even the most seemingly mundane moments. The art is found in its honesty.

  22. While no one can speak for another, for me expression of emotions is the catalyst for creative endeavor, whether written word, photography, art or any number of other outlets. I had a humanities teacher who gave me some good advice once in school. She said your best work will always come from experience. She was right. I suppose it could be a sad commentary on my life that much of my writing has been born of sorrow and pain; but I don’t look at it that way. Without these experiences, how would I begin to understand the suffering of others? I actually find it most difficult to express feelings of immense joy and ecstasy. There just don’t seem to be appropriate words to describe my emotions at those times and, well, I’m just too darn happy to be bothered by writing about it! Thanks for another great post.

I love comments, and I always visit back. Blogging is all about being a part of a community, and communities are about communication! Tweet me up @damyantig !

