Writers Write for their Own Joy


The last week has been a roller-coaster ride in terms of writing.

Some days a 1000 words have arrived in less than two hours. On others I could only find 200. After looking for them the whole day.

But I’ve learned to take it easy on myself and enjoy writing, even on the days of famine. I can be my own best friend, try to know myself, and forgive myself, let my self be, and watch it just wallow in creativity with no end goal in mind.

This isn’t for all the days (there will be months of editing), but for now I can just write for the pleasure of it, and not cry buckets if the words don’t come.

But I've learned to take it easy on myself and enjoy writing, even on the days of famine.

Writers Write for their Own Joy

 

What about you? Do you take joy in your reading, writing and general day to day life?

78 thoughts on “Writers Write for their Own Joy

  1. I stopped writing for a while and started to become truly mad. The voices in my head were excessively loud and unmanageable; I formed a habit of chatting with myself and cachinnating in a thrilled voice, frightening those around me; my soul was constantly agonized. I write in order to keep sane. And to have the chance to really smile a genuine smile. I read to entertain the voices and pacify them; to calm my soul.

  2. “Some days a 1000 words have arrived in less than two hours. On others I could only find 200. After looking for them the whole day.”

    And some days we think the perfect words have finally arrived only to feel later on that those weren’t really the words we’re looking for. Oh the pain and joy in writing!!! :)

I love comments, and I always visit back. Blogging is all about being a part of a community, and communities are about communication! Tweet me up @damyantig !

