Bits and Pieces of #Japan: Hakone, Odawara


Hydrangeas in Hakone, Japan

Hydrangeas in Hakone, Japan

Been out and about in Tokyo and Hakone the past few days. Having been here before (blogged about it here), I can look at Japan with eyes that aren’t dazzled by newness. The natural beauty is as usual stupendous, as is the deliberateness with which it is curated by the

ANcient Cedar Walk Japan Hakone

Ancient cedar walk Hakone

Japanese whenever and wherever they get the chance. This being summer, hydrangeas throng the countryside, and some of them have found their way into my blog header above.

I particularly loved them along the Ancient Cedar walk between Moto-Hakone and Hakone-machi– 420 cedar trees planted by Tokugawa Ieyasu around 1618. So the trees are almost 400 years old. This was the view of Tokaido (click on the pics for larger views) as it used to be when famous Samurai traveled down this road between Edo and Osaka, resting under the shade of these very trees.

Donjon Castle, Odawara Hakone

Donjon Castle, Odawara, Hakone

It was so lonely and quiet, and walking down, I felt I had stepped across time, especially when I had images in my head from the museum of arms and armor at the Donjon castle in Odawara.

I’ll try and add odds and ends of what I see in Japan this trip– but I’ve learned to let go and just experience and enjoy a country without trying to photograph and write about it, so I might even do just that.

21 thoughts on “Bits and Pieces of #Japan: Hakone, Odawara

  1. Pingback: Black Eggs

  2. Lovely write-up! Have never been to Japan, and the beautiful photos have now got me hooked to the idea of planning a trip soon! :)

  3. Do soak in the pleasures of the trip but do drop in a few lines for us. Watched a documentary on Japan on DD decades back. I still remember the cherry blossoms and the Zen parks…

  4. I’ve been to Odawara Castle twice (donjon just means the main keep or tower of a castle), and I live only an hour away from it. Definitely a nice place to see.

I love comments, and I always visit back. Blogging is all about being a part of a community, and communities are about communication! Tweet me up @damyantig !

