The Festival on Lyris Five #atozchallenge


The A to Z April Blogging Challenge 2013   is nearing its end. Are you as exhausted as I feel? I’m co-hosting it on Amlokiblogs, so drop me a comment there if you have something to say about the challenge itself. On this blog, I’ve been featuring mostly indie-published book excerpts for all of April. I love reading, and supporting author-friends, and this is a good way to do both.

The Festival on Lyris Five

Today, for T, I give you an illustrated scifi novella: The Festival on Lyris Five by Nick Daws. The story by UK author Nick Daws is beautifully complemented by Louise Tolentino’s wry illustrations.

Elevator Pitch:Down-on-his-luck pilot Rick Barrett and his beautiful mind-reading companion Julie are heading for the semi-mythical Festival on Lyris Five. But will they find the riches they expect there, or something else entirely?

Excerpt: ‘Hu-man…I would like words with you, hu-man.’

The voice had a pronounced Thrang’I accent. I turned from glum contemplation of my fifth – or maybe sixth – Norton’s Mindwarp of the night to confront its owner. Even in my befuddled state, through the purplish fug of the Martian Arms, I could tell he was displeased. He waved an arm in my face, and I watched in fascination as muscles like boa constrictors rippled under his green skin.
‘I was just on my way out – perhaps we could leave this till tomorrow?’
Two more arms flailed threateningly. ‘Hu-man…I want words with you now.’
‘Oh, very well.’ I smiled engagingly. ‘Can I get you a drink?’

 It’s difficult to read expression on a face that looks like a rotting cauliflower, but I assumed from the fact that I had been forced into a chair and had ten photosynthetic fingers tightening around my throat that my offer had been declined.

Buy the book on Amazon US and UK.

I ‘m not a scifi person, but I read the occasional novel.  Are you a scifi fan? Would you buy this book?

13 thoughts on “The Festival on Lyris Five #atozchallenge

  1. As a very eclectic reader (SF, romance, history, biography, How To, dictionary, and most anything else I can get my hands on mostly found by the box at garage sales and flea markets) I love your book reviews.

  2. I don’t read much sci/fi these days. Love that excerpt. I’ve been mooching around the higher AtoZ’s. Glad to have caught up with yours now.
    Great idea and love that you’re supporting so many writers.

I love comments, and I always visit back. Blogging is all about being a part of a community, and communities are about communication! Tweet me up @damyantig !

