Ramblings In Ireland #atozchallenge


The A to Z April Blogging Challenge 2013   has been a fun ride so far– so many blogs to visit and so little time! I’m co-hosting it on Amlokiblogs, so drop me a comment there if you have something to say about the challenge itself. On this blog, I’ve been featuring mostly indie-published book excerpts for all of April. I love reading, and supporting author-friends, and this is a good way to do both.

Today, for R, I give you a travel story  Ramblings in Ireland by Kerry Dwyer.

Ramblings in Ireland

Ramblings in Ireland

Elevator Pitch:The story of a walking holiday in Ireland is used as a loose thread on which to hang  memories and musings from other times and places.

Excerpt:

The trip to Ireland was a chance for Bertrand to discover for himself the
joys of another culture, another way of life. He loved the
Irish people, the food, the countryside – and most
importantly, the Guinness.
 
There is a lovely French expression “il ne perd pas le
nord.” Literally this means “he doesn’t lose the north.” It
means someone who knows exactly what they want and
where they are going. They are focused on their target and
don’t lose track of it.
 
That doesn’t describe me at all.
 
I can’t read maps. They always seem to be printed the
wrong way up. I can turn them the right way but then the
names of places are sideways or upside down. I never know
which way is north. Bertrand does, and he knows how to
read a compass. Makes you wonder why he trusts me to
navigate.

Buy the book on Amazon

“As British ex-patriate Kerry Dwyer leads Bertrand, her trusting French husband, astray once more, they reminisce and reflect upon accents and accidents, family and friends, love and what it means to be alive. Bertrand doesn’t mind getting lost – he loves Kerry all the more for going off the beaten track. This is a book about ramblings in Ireland. Walk with Kerry and Bertrand and follow where your thoughts lead you.”

Would you like to take the walk with Kerry and Bertrand?

34 thoughts on “Ramblings In Ireland #atozchallenge

  1. This book sounds like an adorable and fun way to visit Ireland for only a few bucks with interesting people. You chose a good excerpt. I normally don’t get into travel books, but I want to get this one now :D

  2. This books sounds excellent, in college I studied abroad in Ireland and traveled from the west to east coast in 14 days, there are no words or pictures to fully explain the beauty of the countryside, I’d gladly ready more about and reminisce on my own Irish adventures.

  3. I can read a map, and my husband (though he loves me) HATES to be off his time or his path. So, yes, I would love to travel with this couple! My mother, my youngest daughter, and I have spent some of the happiest travel moments totally “lost”. :) Thanks for sharing these books!

  4. Have you read How The Irish Saved Civilization? Anyway, Ireland is a mecca for writers, and looking at the landscape and meeting the people, one can see why.
    I will add this book to my ever-growing list. Thank you.

    • Yes it is different – it was difficult to select a genre on Amazon. It is not really a travel guide but not totally memoir either. I don’t like being put in a box :)

I love comments, and I always visit back. Blogging is all about being a part of a community, and communities are about communication! Tweet me up @damyantig !

